That plastic is a major issue for the environment is well known to all of us. But what exactly is plastic? How is it developed and where is it used? And how is plastic affecting our body? The today’s presented documentaries about plastic shows us not only the hazards of plastic, but also how we can avoid it.

Trashed by Jeremy Irons (2012)

Jeremy Irans shows in the documentary ‘Trashed’ that garbage waste a big globally challenge is, and that it affect all of us. To bury the waste underneath the ground or simply burning it cannot be a long-lasting solution. What else?

We buy it. We bury it. We burn it. Plastic.

The right solution starts with us. When it becomes waste we tend to look away. We live for the principle: Out of sight, out of mind. We release things into the environment which are not degradable. It is time that we produce less waste.

Bag It (2011)

Jeb Berrier is not a radical environmentalist or activist, but a regular American citizen who decided to take a closer look on our culture love affair with plastic. He’s looking over the obvious plastic bags we see every day and realizes that practically everything in our modern society – starting from baby bottles, sports equipment and dental seals up to body care products – is made out of plastics and contain potentially harmful additives which are added in the production of plastics.

Jeb goes on a global journey to unwind the complexity about plastic. The effects on our waterways, oceans and our body are enormous. We see and realize how this crazy plastic world has overtaken us and what we can do about it.

Plastic Planet (2011)

Plastic is everywhere. Also in our oceans or even in our blood. In this age of plastic when could wrap our whole planet in plastic foil six times over. With ‘Plastic Planet’ we discover a world that cannot exist without plastic anymore. The director Werner Boote did find out about some astonishing facts and reveals its unbelievable connections.

In ‘Plastic Planet’ you’ll get some surprisingly, fascinating, but overall awakening journeys through the age of plastic that is affecting all of us!

A Plastic Ocean (2016)

The pollution of the oceans with millions of tons of plastic waste counts to the biggest environmental issues of our time. In the center of the North Pacific ocean vortex researchers discovered that there exists more plastic than plankton. The marine biologist Sylvia Earle hits with her statement ‘No water, no life. No blue, no green’ right into the bulls-eye. The problem plastic affects all of us, and therefore, it is so important to make a change.

Change is possible. It starts with us. – Craig Leeson, Director

A Plastic Ocean shows the newest research results which proof how plastic – when entering into the oceans – breaks down into little tiny particles, which then re-enter the food chain where they attract toxins like magnets. These toxins end up in the fat tissues of marine creatures and ultimately are eaten by us.”

Bottled Life (2012)

Water is not a human right, but a food and should have a market value. That’s the opinion of the CEO of Nestlé. The company dominates global markets and trades with bottled drinking water and turns it into money. In ‘Bottled Life’ the Swiss journalist Res Gehriger tries to get a look behind the scenes of the billion dollar business with water. With no success, since Nestlé is blocking all opportunities. But Res Gehriger does not give up and enlightens the picture of the most powerful food company in the world.

Bottled Life is not a documentary that confronts the issue with plastic. But who needs bottled water (from other countries) in PET bottles when you do have available clean drinking water?

By the way, every year over 35,000,000,000 plastic bottles end up in the oceans and in landfills. Time to switch over to a sustainable alternative like for example a reusable glass bottle.

Dass Plastik ein großes Problem für die Umwelt ist, sollte uns allen bekannt sein. Doch was genau ist Plastik, wie entsteht es und wo wird es überall eingesetzt? Und wie wirkt sich eigentlich Plastik auf unseren Körper aus? Die heute vorgestellten Dokumentationen über Plastik zeigen nicht nur die Gefahren von Plastik, sondern auch wie wir es vermeiden können.

Dokumentation Plastik

Weggeworfen – Trashed (2012)

Jeremy Irans zeigt in Trashed, dass Müll eine globale Herausforderung ist, die jeden betrifft. Müll vergraben oder verbrennen kann keine dauerhafte Lösung sein. Was dann?

Wir kaufen es. Wir vergraben es. Wir verbrennen es. Plastik.

Die Lösung liegt bei uns. Wir schauen bei Müll einfach zu oft weg. Es gilt das Prinzip: Aus den Augen, aus dem Sinn. Wir setzen Dinge in die Umwelt frei, die nicht abbaubar sind. Es ist Zeit, dass wir weniger Müll produzieren.

Bag It (2011)

Jeb Berrier ist kein radikaler Umweltschützer, sondern ein durchschnittlicher Amerikaner, der sich entscheidet, unsere kulturelle Liebesaffäre mit Plastik näher zu betrachten. Er schaut über die Plastiktüten hinaus und bemerkt, dass praktisch alles in der modernen Gesellschaft – von Babyflaschen über Sportgeräte und Dentalabdichtungen bis hin zu Körperpflegeprodukten – aus Kunststoff besteht oder potenziell schädliche chemische Zusätze enthält, die bei der Kunststoffherstellung verwendet werden.

Jeb begibt sich auf eine globale Tour, um die Komplexität von Plastik zu entwirren. Die Auswirkungen auf unsere Wasserstraßen, Ozeane und unseren eigenen Köper sind enorm. Wir sehen, wie uns die verrückte Plastikwelt eingeholt hat und was wir dagegen tun können.

Plastic Planet (2011)

Plastik ist überall. Auch in den Weltmeeren oder in unserem Blut. Durch das Plastikzeitalter können wir unseren gesamten Erdball sechs Mal in Plastikfolie einpacken. Mit Plastic Planet entdecken wir eine Welt, die ohne Plastik nicht mehr existieren kann. Der Regisseur Werner Boote findet erstaunliche Fakten und deckt unglaubliche Zusammenhänge auf.

In Plastic Planet erwartet Euch eine überraschende, packende, aber vor allem aufrüttelnde Rundreise durch das Plastikzeitalter, die jeden etwas angeht!

A Plastic Ocean (2016)

Die Verschmutzung mit Millionen Tonnen Plastikmüll zählt zu den größten Umweltproblemen der Ozeane. Im Zentrum des nordpazifischen Meeresstrudels fanden Forscher mehr Plastik als Plankton. Die Meeresbiologin Dr. Sylvia Earle trifft mit ihrer Aussage “No Water, No Life. No Blue, No Green.” ins Schwarze. Das Problem Plastik betrifft uns alle, und genau deswegen ist es so wichtig, etwas zu ändern.

Change is possible. It starts with us. – Craig Leeson, Regisseur

„A Plastic Ocean dokumentiert die neuesten Forschungserkenntnisse, die beweisen, wie Plastik, wenn es in die Ozeane gelangt, in kleine Partikel zerfällt, die dann in die Nahrungskette gelangen, wo sie Giftstofffe anziehen wie Magnete. Diese Giftstoffe werden im Fettgewebe von Meerestieren eingelagert und letztendlich von uns gegessen.“

Bottled Life (2012)

Wasser ist kein Menschenrecht, sondern ein Lebensmittel und sollte Marktwert haben. Findet der CEO von Nestlé. Der Konzern dominiert den globalen Handel mit abgepacktem Trinkwasser und verwandelt Wasser in Geld. In Bottled Life versucht der Schweizer Journalist Res Gehriger einen Blick hinter die Kulissen des Wasser- und damit Milliardengeschäfts zu werfen. Vergeblich, da Nestlé abblockt. Trotzdem lässt Res Gehriger nicht locker und verdichtet das Bild über die Denkweisen und Strategien des mächtigsten Lebensmittelkonzerns der Welt.

Bottled Life ist zwar keine Dokumentation, die sich mit dem Thema Plastik auseinander setzt. Doch wer braucht abgefülltes Wasser (aus anderen Ländern) in PET-Flaschen, wenn wir sauberes Trinkwasser zur Verfügung haben?

Apropos landen pro Jahr 35.000.000.000 Plastikflaschen in Ozeanen und auf Mülldeponien. Zeit,  auf nachhaltige Alternativen, wie beispielsweise wiederverwendbare Glasflaschen umzusteigen.